The role of the Parish Council

Datchworth Parish Council was formed in 1894 and is the most local level of government for the people of the Parish. Its ten Councillors are responsible for maintaining the green spaces, play areas and leisure plots of the Parish.   As owners of the village green, Turkey Farm recreation ground and common lands the Council are responsible for maintaining the vegetation on these areas.  The Parish Council work closely with East Herts District Council and Hertfordshire Council (including Highways) to ensure efficient maintenance of the village.


Meetings normally take place on the 4th Tuesday of most months at 7.00pm in Datchworth Church Hall. However, there are exceptions – please click  here for our programme of meetings for the full schedule.

Residents are welcome to attend the meetings but do not have an automatic right to speak. If you wish to put a point to the meeting, please contact the Clerk to the council at least 3 days before the meeting by emailing:

Annual General Meeting (AGM) – takes place in May. This is a formal meeting to re-elect the Chair and Vice-Chair and to delegate the councillor’s responsibilities. Residents are welcome but cannot participate.

Annual Parish Meeting (APM) – takes place between 1 st March – 1 st June. All residents are welcome. This meeting is specifically an opportunity for DPC to report on its activities over the previous year and for the residents to speak openly to DPC.

Chair of Datchworth Parish Council:
Councillor Jane Dodson

District Councillor:
Tony Stowe